Committee Composition

  Audit Compensation Nominations
Gil Van Bokkelen, PhD Chairman of the Board      
Lee Babiss, PhD Independent Director   Member of Compensation Committee Committee Chair for Nominations Committee
Elected 2010

Dr. Babiss has served as Lead Director since October 2013 and a Director since August 2010. Dr. Babiss is currently Chief Executive Officer of X-Rx, Inc., a majority-owned subsidiary of PPD, Inc., a biotechnology company focused on the rapid and cost-effective discover and development of small molecule medicines, where he has served since 2012.  Prior to his appointment at X-Rx, Dr. Babiss was the Chief Scientific Officer and Executive Vice President of Discovery Innovation of PPD, Inc., a clinical research organization, where he served from February 2010 to 2016.  Dr. Babiss was formerly President and Director of Global Pharmaceutical Research at Roche, a pharmaceutical company, from 1998 until his appointment at PPD, Inc. Prior to Roche, Dr. Babiss spent seven years with Glaxo, Inc., now GlaxoSmithKline, a pharmaceutical company, where he held senior positions, including Vice President of Biological Sciences and Genetics. Dr. Babiss received his doctorate in Microbiology from Columbia University and completed his postdoctoral fellowship at the Rockefeller University, where he served as an assistant and associate professor. Dr. Babiss has received numerous fellowship awards and grants and serves on several scientific advisory committees and boards. Dr. Babiss has published over 60 peer-reviewed scientific papers. 

Dr. Babiss’ brings over 20 years of experience developing and leading research and development programs. His strategic leadership and product development knowledge provide a valuable perspective to the Board.

John Harrington, PhD      
Ismail Kola, PhD Independent Director     Member of Nominations Committee
Lorin J Randall Independent Director Committee Chair for Audit Committee Committee Chair for Compensation Committee Member of Nominations Committee
Jack L Wyszomierski Independent Director Member of Audit Committee Member of Compensation Committee Member of Nominations Committee
Jordan S. Davis Independent Director Member of Audit Committee    
  Chair of the Board = Chair of the Board
  Committee Chair = Chair
  Committee Member = Member
  Independent Director = Independent Director