Committee Composition

  Audit Compensation Nominations
Gil Van Bokkelen, PhD Chairman of the Board      
Lee Babiss, PhD Independent Director   Member of Compensation Committee Committee Chair for Nominations Committee
John Harrington, PhD      
John Harrington Executive Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Harrington co-founded Athersys in 1995 and has served as our Chief Scientific Officer, Executive Vice President and Director since our founding. Dr. Harrington led the development of the RAGE® technology, as well as its application for gene discovery, drug discovery and commercial protein production applications. He is a listed inventor on over 20 issued or pending United States patents, has authored numerous scientific publications, and has received numerous awards for his work, including being named one of the top international young scientists by MIT Technology Review in 2002. Dr. Harrington has overseen the therapeutic product development programs at Athersys since their inception, and is also focused on the clinical development and manufacturing of MultiStem®.  During his career, he has also held positions at Amgen and Scripps Clinic. He received his B.A. in Biochemistry and Cell Biology from the University of California at San Diego and his Ph.D. in Cancer Biology from Stanford University.

Dr. Harrington’s scientific experience and deep understanding of our Company, combined with his drive for innovation and excellence, position him well to serve on the Board of Directors.

Ismail Kola, PhD Independent Director     Member of Nominations Committee
Lorin J Randall Independent Director Committee Chair for Audit Committee Committee Chair for Compensation Committee Member of Nominations Committee
Jack L Wyszomierski Independent Director Member of Audit Committee Member of Compensation Committee Member of Nominations Committee
Jordan S. Davis Independent Director Member of Audit Committee    
  Chair of the Board = Chair of the Board
  Committee Chair = Chair
  Committee Member = Member
  Independent Director = Independent Director