Committee Composition

  Audit Compensation Nominations
Gil Van Bokkelen, PhD Chairman of the Board      
Gil Van Bokkelen Chairman and CEO

Dr. Van Bokkelen has served as our Chief Executive Officer and Chairman since August 2000. Dr. Van Bokkelen co-founded Athersys in 1995 and has served as Chief Executive Officer and Director since the Company’s founding. Prior to May 2006, he also served as the Company’s President. Dr. Van Bokkelen is also the Chairman of the Board of Governors for the National Center for Regenerative Medicine.  He served as the Chairman of the Alliance for Regenerative Medicine from 2010 through 2012, a Washington D.C. based consortium of companies, patient advocacy groups, disease foundations, and clinical and research institutions that are committed to the advancement of the field of regenerative medicine, and served ex officio from 2013 to 2014. He has served on a number of other boards, including the Biotechnology Industry Organization’s ECS board of directors (from 2001 to 2004, and from 2008 to present). He received his Ph.D. in Genetics from Stanford University School of Medicine, his B.A. in Economics from the University of California at Berkeley, and his B.A. in Molecular Biology from the University of California at Berkeley.

Dr. Van Bokkelen brings to the Board leadership, extensive business, operating, financial and scientific experience, and tremendous knowledge of our Company and the biotechnology industry. Dr. Van Bokkelen also brings his broad strategic vision for our Company to the Board of Directors and his service as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Athersys creates a critical link between management and the Board, enabling the Board to perform its oversight function with the benefit of management’s perspectives on the business. In addition, having the Chief Executive Officer, and Dr. Van Bokkelen, in particular, on our Board of Directors provides our Company with ethical, decisive and effective leadership.

Lee Babiss, PhD Independent Director   Member of Compensation Committee Committee Chair for Nominations Committee
John Harrington, PhD      
Ismail Kola, PhD Independent Director     Member of Nominations Committee
Lorin J Randall Independent Director Committee Chair for Audit Committee Committee Chair for Compensation Committee Member of Nominations Committee
Jack L Wyszomierski Independent Director Member of Audit Committee Member of Compensation Committee Member of Nominations Committee
Jordan S. Davis Independent Director Member of Audit Committee    
  Chair of the Board = Chair of the Board
  Committee Chair = Chair
  Committee Member = Member
  Independent Director = Independent Director